Type to search

Afcon: Why Algeria’s exit doesn’t surprise all


Afcon: Why Algeria’s exit doesn’t surprise all

Isifu Wirfengla

Buea – Esunge Andrew

The verdict felt like a bomb blast! 2019 African champion Algeria has exited the thirty-third edition of the Africa Cup of Nations prematurely.

The shock is unsurmountable after the Desert Foxes suffered a humiliating three-one defeat at the hands of Ivory Coast.

The unimaginable outcome twaddles wide predictions and pundits who rooted for them ahead of the 24-team tournament.

This has however become all too common with title defenders of the continental fiesta in recent times.

Since 2012, no winner has been able to pull through in the following edition.

After beating tournament favourites Ivory Coast on penalties to the title in 2012, Frenchman Herve Renard failed to qualify Zambia for the quarterfinals at the 2013 African Cup.

Under deceased legendary coach Stephen Keshi, the Super Eagles of Nigeria clinched the 2013 edition in South Africa.

When time came in 2015 for them to prove their mettle, Nigeria couldn’t go beyond the group stages.

Led by captain Yaya Touré, Ivorians cruised through to lift the 2015 trophy. Unfortunately, they went the way of previous holders, failing to break through the group stages in 2017 in Gabon.

The hosts of the current edition, Cameroon – using a disjointed squad under reconstruction, won the 2017 version in Gabon.

When Egypt hosted the next one in 2019, the Indomitable Lions pushed past group stage before falling to long-time rivals Nigeria in the round of 16.

So, don’t be surprised when winners of this one are disgraced next year in Ivory Coast.

Isifu Wirfengla
Isifu Wirfengla

Isifu Michael WIRFENGLA is holder of a Bsc. in Journalism and taking postgraduate studies in Information and Communication Sciences from the University of Yaounde 2. He has five years of broadcast experience. Apart from freelance/sports reporting, he is a trained, practising football referee in Cameroon.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *